back to FAQs contents

goto CRA home page
california redwood association

Are there different types of redwood?

There are three redwood species. The Coast Redwood (Sequoia sempervirens) and the Sierra Redwood (Sequoiadendron gigantea) are native to California. The Dawn Redwood (Metasequoia) grows in China. The Coast Redwood is used to make redwood lumber and is the subject of this website.

3rdwoods.jpg (6993 bytes)

  n e x t 
is redwood endangered?